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About Me


Nikhil Nilakantan is the President & CEO at Social Span Media LLC, a social media strategy and marketing consultancy that specializes in helping clients extend their product and brand strategies by building virally engaging marketing solutions for social networks such as Facebook, MySpace, Hi5, Orkut, and LinkedIn, among many others.

Nikhil is also the Founder & Principal at Inventive Path LLC, a product strategy and innovation consulting firm based in Dallas, TX.

Nikhil is passionate about all things associated with new media marketing, web 2.0 technologies and social networking.

Please contact Nikhil if you are interested in hiring him for consulting or speaking engagements or if you'd just like to chat about new media marketing.

 

February 2008
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Business Plan: Build Facebook app, attract 1 Million+ users, get rich!

Just about everyone I meet these days seems to be interested in creating a Facebook application. Every 20 something entrepreneur I talk to is expecting to create a Facebook application, attract a few million users in a few weeks and then sit back and count all the advertising revenue coming in every day. After all, it worked for Top Friends, Super Wall and Scrabulous so why can’t it work for everyone else?

Here’s the harsh reality - Less than 1% of all Facebook applications have more than 1 Million users. The large majority of facebook applications fail to attract any significant number of users. The table below is a summary of Adonomics statistics of the approximately 16,000 applications on Facebook (as of Feb 5th 2008).

Installed Users Applications % of Total
1M+ 146 0.9%
100k-1M 626 3.9%
10k-100k 1574 9.8%
1k-10k 3035 18.9%
Less than 1k 10563 66.5%

If the data above is not sobering enough, it is important to remember that it does not take “daily active users” into account i.e. the number of users of an application who actually return to use the application every day. A quick survey of the top 10 most actively used applications on facebook shows that their daily active use averages 10.8%. Of course, this assumes that you are constantly improving your application on a
regular basis to ensure that your users are engaged enough to keep coming back.

Let’s say that you do create a moderately successful application that attracts around 100,000 users (you’d have to be in the top 5% of all Facebook applications to do so) - how much money could you make from advertising? Let’s look at a possible scenario below. Note: This scenario assumes that all your revenue comes from advertising since this is the case for most Facebook applications today.

100,000 users
10.8% daily active users
4 average page views per user per visit

100,000 * 4 * 10.8% = 43,200 page views per day

Wow! That’s a lot of page views for one app right? So, I should make $$$!
Unfortunately, the answer is - not really.

Assuming you don’t own an advertising network and happen to use one of the Facebook friendly ad networks like Appsaholic you are going to earn CPMs of between $0.30 and $1.

For this discussion let’s say you earn $0.55 CPM

43,200/1000 * $0.55 = $23.76 per day

$23.76 * 30 days = $712.80

$712.80 * 12 months = $8553.60 per year

Sure, that’s a lot of money if you are a college student or if you happen to own 10 applications that produce similar results. Sure, it will more than pay for your server and hosting costs. But - it definitely won’t make you rich overnight.

Lessons Learned
1. A very small percentage of Facebook applications can actually cross the 100,000+ user mark (< 5%). Creating a successful Facebook application with a lot of users is a lot harder than just coming up with a good idea. It is important for every application to be designed to maximize viral growth on the Facebook platform (more on that in a separate post).

2. Even if you have an application that attracts a 100,000+ users you will not get rich overnight.

Bottom Line
The goal of this post was not to discourage people from creating Facebook applications - far from it. However, it is important for anyone interested in creating a Facebook application to ask themselves the following questions:

  • Do I have a real business model behind the application I’m trying to create? (assuming that you’re not trying to build the application just to amuse yourself)

AND/OR

  • Do I have an existing brand or product that I can extend to Facebook thereby creating additional buzz (or adding a distribution channel) for my products and extending my brand presence?

I think asking (and answering) these questions will not only improve the quality of applications being created but will also stop application developers from spending time creating applications that they have not put some genuine thought into.

Comments

Comment from Stormy Shippy
Time: March 12, 2008, 10:21 am

Everyone gets excited fast but eventually things iron out and people start asking themselves the question you posed. Unless the developer is truly interested in amusement as you point out.

It took almost a year (quite a while imo), but things being built on the Facebook platform are going to start shaping up and provide serious value/benefit to the 70M users. The days of the land grab are over…hopefully. Facebookers are expecting and beginning to demand much more.

Comment from Jitendra
Time: March 12, 2008, 11:48 am

Nikhil,

Great blog and it was great to meet you at the SXSW…Check out SezWho for your site…

Keep in touch.

-Jitendra

Comment from Steve Couslon
Time: June 6, 2008, 8:36 am

This is actually a good lesson on the harsh economics of the web, and why I still fail to understand how all the venture capitalists will ever see returns on so many of their investments. I run a blog that gets over 500k visits every month, which I monetize with multiple CPM and CPC systems, and to be honest, for the time I spend on it, I could probably make more money, hour for hour, working at Starbucks in my spare time.

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